MLB Announces 2020 Regular Season Schedule

All 30 Clubs Scheduled to Play on Opening Day on Thursday, March 26th;

Special Events to Include a Second Trip to London Stadium (STL-CHI), a Return to Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, Puerto Rico (MIA-NYM), and the GEICO Summer Series, Featuring “MLB atField of Dreams” (CWS-NYY) and the Fourth Little League Classic (BAL-BOS)

Get the 2020 National League Schedule >>HERE<<

Get the 2020 American League Schedule >>HERE<<

Get the 2020 Cincinnati Reds Schedule >>HERE<<

Major League Baseball today announced its master 2020 Major League regular season schedule, which will begin with all 30 Major League Clubs in action on Thursday, March 26th.  The 2020 season will mark the third consecutive campaign in which all 30 Clubs are scheduled to play on Opening Day.

Opening Day of the 2020 campaign could become the first season since 1968 in which every team across the Majors plays their first game of the season on the same day.  Two weather-related postponements prevented it from occurring in 2018, and while all 30 teams played on traditional Opening Day in 2019, the Seattle Mariners and Oakland Athletics had already played two games in Tokyo as part of the 2019 Opening Series.

Opening Day will feature 12 divisional match-ups among the 15 games, in addition to an Interleague contest between the host Tampa Bay Rays and the Pittsburgh Pirates.  Seven games are scheduled for Friday, March 27th, and full slates of 15 games are scheduled for both Saturday, March 28th and Sunday, March 29th.

Interleague Play throughout the season will feature the AL East vs. NL Central, AL Central vs. NL West and AL West vs. NL East, in addition to Interleague contests played between prime rivals.  Notable series feature renewals of three recent World Series matchups, including San Francisco Giants-Detroit Tigers (May 19th-20th at Oracle Park and August 4th-5th at Comerica Park); Boston Red Sox-St. Louis Cardinals (June 26th-28th at Fenway Park); and Giants-Kansas City Royals (August 28th-30th at Oracle Park).

In addition, other highlights of the 2020 schedule include:

  • The first game at Globe Life Field, the new home of the Texas Rangers, on Tuesday, March 31st against the Los Angeles Angels.
  • Fourteen games scheduled for Jackie Robinson Day on Wednesday, April 15th, including the Los Angeles Dodgers hosting the Cardinals at Dodger Stadium.
  • The Miami Marlins will host the New York Mets in the Puerto Rico Series, a three-game set at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, Puerto Rico from April 28th-30th.
  • A two-game set on June 13th-14th between the host Cardinals and Chicago Cubs at London Stadium, marking the city’s second consecutive season hosting MLB games.
  • The Chicago Cubs will host the Red Sox for a three-game series from June 19th-21st, and visit Yankee Stadium for a three-game set from June 26th-28th.  It marks Boston’s third-ever regular season series at Wrigley Field and the first since June 2012.  For the Cubs, it will be their third-ever regular season road series against the Yankees and the first since April 2014.
  • The Los Angeles Angels will host the Dodgers for two games on July 10th-11th at Angel Stadium, marking the first time that Interleague prime rivals square off in the same market as the All-Star Game leading into the break.
  • The 91st All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 14th at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, its first Midsummer Classic since 1980.
  • The Dodgers will host their NL West-rival Giants in the only Major League game played on Thursday, July 16th, following the All-Star break.
  • Mike Trout and the Angels will visit Bryce Harper and the Philadelphia Phillies at Citizens Bank Park for a three-game series immediately after the All-Star break from July 17th-19th.  The series will mark Trout’s second trip to Philadelphia near his hometown of Millville, NJ, following a two-game set in May 2014.  In addition, it will be the fourth time the two All-Stars, who are linked by their respective Rookie of the Year-winning seasons in 2012, square off in their careers, following a three-game set in Washington in April 2014 and a pair of two-game sets in Anaheim and Washington in July and August 2017.
  • The San Diego Padres will visit the Kansas City Royals at Kauffman Stadium from July 24th-26th, marking the return of Eric Hosmer, a part of Kansas City’s 2015 World Championship team, for the first time as a visiting player.
  • The recently announced “MLB at Field of Dreams” game on Thursday, August 13th between the Chicago White Sox and New York Yankees.  Part of the GEICO Summer Series, the historic game will be the first Major League game ever played in Iowa.
  • The fourth Little League Classic presented by GEICO on Sunday, August 23rd, featuring the host Baltimore Orioles and the Red Sox at Historic Bowman Field in Williamsport, PA, home of the Little League World Series.
  • The final day of the 2020 regular season on Sunday, September 27th, featuring 12 divisional games.